Athletics

Athletics Overview

Welcome to Bishop Ireton Athletics

As a member of the Washington Catholic Athletic Conference and the Virginia Independent School Athletic Association, Bishop Ireton offers students the opportunity to play various sports at a competitive level while learning the benefits of working as a team toward a common goal, and while building a strong sense of community. More than 75% of our students participate in a school sport and many of them participate in multiple sports during the school year.

Bishop Ireton offers 19 sports including baseball, basketball, cheer, cross country, field hockey, football, golf, ice hockey, indoor track, lacrosse, rowing, soccer, softball, swim and dive, tennis, track and field, volleyball, and wrestling. Additionally, there are three “no cut” sports offered (cross country, indoor/winter track & field and outdoor/spring track & field). More information can be found on the website under the team pages. 

Before a student can participate in a sport, he/she must have a completed VHSL physical.

Please note that the WCAC has a strict transfer policy in place.

Many Bishop Ireton athletes go on to compete at the next level. For a list of recent collegiate Cardinals, click here.

Select a Team

Athletics Staff

List of 4 members.

  • Photo of Dwayne Bryant

    Dwayne Bryant 

    Director of Athletics, Head Coach Boys Basketball
    703-212-5169
  • Photo of Ashley Perez

    Ashley Perez 

    Assistant Athletic Director
  • Photo of Jana Katz

    Jana Katz 

    Certified Athletic Trainer
    (703) 212-5171
  • Photo of Michael Roberts

    Michael Roberts 

    Certified Athletic Trainer

List of 3 frequently asked questions.

  • Varsity Fall Sport Head Coaches

    CHEERLEADING (Fall)
    Head Coach: TBD

    CROSS COUNTRY
    Head Coach: Robert Artman
    bob.artman@knippfarms.com

    FIELD HOCKEY
    Head Coach: Avery Potter
    avery.potter@knippfarms.com

    FOOTBALL
    Head Coach: Bernard Joseph

    ROWING (Fall)
    Head Coach: Steve Hall
    steve.hall@knippfarms.com

    BOYS SOCCER
    Head Coach: Jordan Clement
    jordan.clement@knippfarms.com

    GIRLS SOCCER
    Head Coach: Desiree Beruete
    desiree.beruete@knippfarms.com

    GIRLS TENNIS
    Head Coach: Tom Noone
    Noonet@knippfarms.com

    VOLLEYBALL
    Head Coach: Nadine Lilavois
    nadine.lilavois@knippfarms.com
  • Varsity Winter Sport Head Coaches

    BOYS BASKETBALL
    Head Coach: Dwayne Bryant
    dwayne.bryant@knippfarms.com

    GIRLS BASKETBALL
    Head Coach: Kesha Walton
    kesha.walton@knippfarms.com

    CHEERLEADING (Winter)
    Head Coach: TBD

    ICE HOCKEY
    Head Coach: TBD

    INDOOR TRACK
    Head Coach: Bob Artman
    bob.artman@knippfarms.com

    ROWING (Winter)
    Head Coach: Steve Hall
    steve.hall@knippfarms.com

    SWIM & DIVE
    Head Coach: Kaitlyn Gerke
    kaitlyn.gerke@knippfarms.com

    WRESTLING
    Head Coach: Greg Redden
    greg.redden@knippfarms.com
  • Varsity Spring Sport Head Coaches

    BASEBALL
    Head Coach: Kevin O'Keefe
    o'keefek@knippfarms.com

    GOLF
    Head Coach: Paul Trimber
    paul.trimber@knippfarms.com

    BOYS LACROSSE
    Head Coach: Max Snider
    max.snider@knippfarms.com

    GIRLS LACROSSE
    Head Coach: Erin Hellmold
    erin.hellmold@knippfarms.com

    ROWING (Spring)
    Head Coach: Steve Hall
    steve.hall@knippfarms.com

    SOFTBALL
    Head Coach: David Pough
    david.pough@knippfarms.com

    BOYS TENNIS
    Head Coach: Tom Noone
    noonet@knippfarms.com

    TRACK & FIELD
    Head Coach: Robert Artman
    bob.artman@knippfarms.com